Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Baby Safe Class

Source
Last Thursday we took our "Baby Safe" Class at the hospital where I will be delivering.

The Baby Safe class focuses on creating a safe home environment for baby and discusses crib and toy safety, safe sleep positions and SIDS prevention, water safety, baby-proofing the home, choking and fall prevention, home emergencies and basic first aid for bleeding, burns, fractures, shock and poisoning. This class only cost $35, so not a huge investment, but I have to say: I wasn't impressed.
  • First: The teacher used a VHS (yes...a VHS) probably from 1972 to structure the class. Has there really not been a single informative video on baby safety since the 1970's or 1980's?
  • The video showed examples of how to keep your baby safe in a crib and showed drop-side cribs in the examples. Those don't even exist anymore!
  • Each time our instructor paused the video to talk and add her own piece to the segment she would start off by saying "I'm sorry...I know you're probably sick of hearing my voice...I'll just be really quick and then wrap it up, I just want to quickly add in two little things if you could bear with me...I'm so sorry..." No one was openly groaning, or giving her a hard time. This wasn't a High School math class where we were passing notes about who was going to ask us to prom. This was a class we willingly signed up and paid money for...do not apologize every time you want to say something. If I wanted to pay to watch an out-of-date movie, I'd rent one for far less money or even pull it up on youtube for that matter.
  • The class was supposed to be 2 hours, she had us out of there in 1 hour and 15 minutes. Once I saw how things were going, I wasn't disappointed to get out of there early. But really?
  • Everything was basic...I don't feel like I learned anything I didn't already know. Don't make water too hot, don't put anything else in the crib with the baby, don't shake the baby, etc. etc.
At the end of the class, she asked us to fill our evaluation forms and bring them up to her. I noticed at the bottom of the form there was a fax number where you could send your completed form. I opted to do that instead of bringing it up to her since I had some "not so nice" things to say about the class. Oh well, here's hoping our 8 hour Lamaze and birthing class next month goes better than this one!

In case you missed it yesterday, don't forget to sign up for the Fall Swap that I'm hosting with some other blog friends! It would be so great to see you all join in to share your favorite Fall items with a fellow blogger!

12 comments:

  1. How disappointing that the class was so pathetic. She could have supplemented up dated information with segments from United Streaming or even added some humor with current clips from movies-especially the animated ones. I bet next week's class will not disappoint.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. yea i really hope lamaze is better..we shall see!

      Delete
  2. How sad that the video wasn't updated! You'd think that those would be updated to fit today's standards. We start our first of six Lamaze classes tonight and I'm hoping it's worth it! Both our moms told me they thought it was pointless but I know the classes have changed since then so I'm hoping it's beneficial. It doesn't seem possible to be this far along and doing this!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Have fun at your classes, can't wait to hear all about them! I know - I can't believe we're at the "you should take classes" stage of pregnancy, haha!

      Delete
  3. I'm sorry that class was a disappointed, I think the one thing you really need to learn for baby safety is infant CPR, the rest is pretty common sense and stuff you'll find in books and on the web. I really liked our Childbirth Class and Babycare classes. Hopefully your lamaze class will go better.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know and Infant CPR met this week and doesn't meet again at our hospital until December!!! I'll have to look for another class somewhere else.

      Delete
  4. I'm sorry that your class wasn't so great. I hate when you pay for stuff like that and they don't give you the class or the info that you were hoping for. Especially since you paid for it. I hope that they take your evaluation into consideration and revamp the class for future participants.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, just faxed the evaluation off this afternoon, so hopefully it will help them improve their future classes!

      Delete
  5. Gosh, what a ridiculous class! It sounds like a total waste of time and money, even though it was fairly cheap. They should be embarrassed to even offer something like this!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Agreed, I guarantee you if you had given me a day to prepare, I could have taught this class better than this woman. I don't understand people sometimes...

      Delete
  6. VHS? wow! Sorry your class was a bummer. I'd let them know on the comments for sure!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep, just faxed it off...for realz on the VHS!

      Delete

Please leave me some lovin' and thanks for stopping by!